The Pruning

Passion Week (Sunday) | Resurrection!

In Uncategorized on March 31, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Throughout Passion Week, a post will be published each day to help us reflect on Jesus and the greatest historical event that has ever taken place – the Resurrection. All excerpts are taken from “Love to the Uttermost”, a devotional on Passion Week from Pastor John Piper (Desiring God. Website: desiringGod.org).

“For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge i have received from my Father.” (John 10:17-18ESV)

“Why does Jesus say this? Why does he stress his willingness to die? Because if it weren’t true – if his death were forced on him, if it weren’t free, if his heart weren’t really in it – then a big question mark would be put over his love for us.

The depth of his love is in its freedom. If he didn’t die for us willingly – if he didn’t choose the suffering and embrace it – then how deep is his love, really? So he stresses it. He makes it explicit. ‘It comes out of me, not out of circumstances, not out of pressure, but out of what I really long to do.’

Of all the great things Easter means, it also means this: it is a mighty ‘I meant it!'”

_______________________________________________________________________

Happy Easter! He is risen. Yes, He is risen indeed.

Leave a Reply

